Day Fifty and Fifty-One: Kitzbühel to Salzburg

Today I am in Salzburg, such a nice change from Kitzbühel. I think I should’ve only stayed one night there. Anyway here I am. 

Yesterday I spent the day in Kitzbühel. It was forecast to rain but only rained during the night and early morning. I was a bit upset that I had booked two nights here but I would handle it. I woke up feeling a bit worse than the day before (thanks swim on the mountain) so I decided to take it easy.

The day started well when I discovered the hostels included breakfast. There is cereal and the usual but the added bonus is the breakfast fridge. In this fridge are eggs, bacon, cheese, yhogurt and other spreads and things. Self service so I made myself the best breakfast I’ve had in a while: fried eggs, bacon and toast. Plus lots of extras.

The sun started shining early one and I headed into town to discover a mountain bike race was scheduled to start in the old town. Man I always get this itch when I see bicycles with numbers on them. Once the race had started I was left to realise that the town was pretty much closed (apparently it was a public holiday or something). Terrible. I couldn’t even buy snacks at the supermarket. I ended up cycling (the hostel has a free bicycle to use) up to nowhere where i picnicked on nuts and cranberries I had bought the previous day. It was super average.

 

Beautiful Kitzbühel
  
Mountainbike race
  
Flower everywhere!
  
Some beautiful weather before the rain came
  
Exploring the lower slopes
  
River running through the town
 The day was so slow! I eventually gave in and read my book in a park for much of the afternoon before napping and heading out for a late lunch or early dinner (it counted as both) in the old town. It was pleasant but i was feeling particularly lonely. Yay me.

I got a new dorm mate on my last night, a guy from France. At least i had someone to talk to. It was an early night (again, Kitzbühel hadn’t been too good for me). 

Early start today to get breakfast in and everything packed. Super amped to get to Salzburg, although everywhere in the region shows rain as a forecast. 

The train journey was beautiful, in my opinion even more beautiful than the journey into Innsbruck. The train tracks skirted enormous cliffs shrouded in low cloud cover. Beautiful. 

 

Kitzbühel train station on a gray day
  
Beautiful train journey

 
Salzburg. First impression: average (but that changed quickly after going into the old town). The hostel I had booked was nice enough but a big change from the intimate hostel I had been staying in. A big, impersonal but super clean and friendly. I am only booked for one night and tomorrow night they have zero space. So tomorrow remains a mystery.I headed into town. So much character. Being Sunday, much of the town is on go slow but the tourist centre was absolutely buzzing. The hostel had a do it yourself walking tour so I followed the map and their directions. Beautiful city, but surprisingly small. I was super tired so didn’t get to it all (and due to my moneylessness I didn’t enter any sights). It was enough though for the afternoon. Tomorrow would be another day to explore if it wasn’t raining too much.

 

Residenzplatz in a gray Salzburg
  
Mozartplatz- wish i could’ve gone to a concert here in Salzburg (so expensive!)
  
Austrian lunch
  
Getting some vantage above the city
  
Follow me up to the fortress
  
Buzzing old town
  
Ice cream to keep me sweet
  
River- and heavy rain clouds yay
  
view of the fortress (way in the distance) from Mirabellgarten
 
The evening was close with goulash (my first of the trip), beer and games. I had met a cool American fella in my dorm and down in the pub we joined a mixed group of people to play some games. It was good after my time in Austria so far. Tomorrow I’ll see what comes.

Leave a comment