Day Eighty-Six: Stuttgart and Mercedes Benz

Stuttgart, the birthplace of Daimler and Benz. There is a long history of daughters named Mercedes and legacies and such and eventually, because of rough economic times, we were left with Mercedes Benz. I wasn’t in Stuttgart for very long but I did get to see and experience the Mercedes Benz museum. So worth it!

I left Strasbourg by bus and was meant to arrive in Stuttgart by 12:30. Unfortunately there was a huge traffic jam on the highway which made us a good hour late. Also, the bus dropped me off at the airport (yaaaaay) which meant I had to catch a train into town then another train to the hostel. Time in Stuttgart was slipping away. Luckily I made it to the hostel, checked in and headed out to the Mercedes Benz museum before it could close on me.

The museum was fantastic. The engineering marvels and intricate history of the motor vehicle industry littered the eight floors of the museum. It is definitely worth a visit. I spent a good 2 hours in there but that was because I only had 2 hours of the museum being open. It’s probably easy to spend up to 4 hours exploring all of the museum. The photos below are just a taste of what the museum is about.

 

On the way to the Museum
  
Mercedes Benz Museum
    
    
    
    
  
Fuel cell got the engineer in me buzzing
  
    
    
    
 From the museum I caught the train back into Stuttgart with hundreds of football fans on their way back from a Bundesliga match (they weren’t as rowdy as I was expecting). It was now time to see some Stuttgart town. I wondered from the main train station up what seemed to be the main shopping/walking street which was mostly closed (summer vibes are definitely gone). I cam out at a beautiful park with some pretty old buildings and just sat on a bench (in the cold, gosh it was cold) and just absorbed it all. I found some dinner at döner kebab place (it gave me the worst indigestion of my life ever yaaaay) and walked back to my hostel for some sleep.

   
 

  1.   

All in all Stuttgart is average. Good for the motoring museums but as a town it lacked any character (my opinion). Maybe it was because all I could think about was getting to Munich and Oktoberfest! Whoooo

Leave a comment