Day Sixty: La Tomatina

La Tomatina was epic, but one of those things I wouldn’t come back to do again. I can just imagine it would lose its magic after the first time because it is actually ridiculously gross and violent.

We were up early for breakfast and a 7:15 bus to the town of Buñol where the event is held. I had decided not to get too prepared for the event (everyone had bought clothes and shoes to throw away) and found a t-shirt and a pants I was willing to sacrifice (buying clothes to immediately throw away is against my moral fibre). I did have a problem with footwear though. I decided to tape my slip slops to my feet instead of buying 15€ shoes to throw away. If I lost them I could buy new ones for 17€ anyway.

We arrived at the venue almost three hours early. The tomato fight was only meant to start at 11 so we all grabbed an early morning sangria to get the day started (sangria is the best thing in the world). we eventually made our way down to the street where all the action would happen, and after almost having my GoPro pole confiscated we made it into the street. And oh my goodness there were people. Apparently only 9000 people actually live in the town and 20 000 people come for la Tomatina (yes, many many people in a tiny narrow street in a tiny town). It was crazy. 

Jared and I with out early morning sangria
  

 

The tiny street for la tomatina
  
Nat and I getting prepared
  
Full blown crazy tomato fighting
  
Tomato soup
    
Kill shot
 Then the fight started. A loud bang signaled the start and trucks started rolling into the fight area unloading tomatoes.every time a truck would move past us everyone would be crushed against the walls on the side of the street to allow the truck to move past. Then mayhem would commence as everyone picks up tomatoes and tomato slush from the road and pelting the people around them (a tomato in the face/eye is a very very unpleasant thing). I did initially wear goggles but after a while I couldn’t see anything so just left them around my neck to gather tomato juice. The fight never seemed to end (one hour is much longer than it seems) and we headed out early to beat the crowds. Everywhere there were locals hosing us down but we could never get rid of the now dried stinking tomato paste on our bodies.

 

Beautiful Buñol on the way back to the bus
 
At the bus we changed into cleaner clothes (still stinking yay) and waited for everyone to return before heading back to Valencia. If anything, la Tomatina brought our Topdeck crew much closer (seeing as it was only the 2nd full day of the tour).

Oh my goodness we were tired after la Tomatina but our afternoon still included a guided walking tour of Valencia (yay). The walking tour was average but the lunch/dinner we had made it all better (seafood paella for the win). Unfortunately lack of sleep was catching up and back at the hotel I tried to nap but my body wouldn’t allow it (yay me) and we had a night out ahead.

 

Valencia walking tour
  
Exploring Valencia
   
Plaza de la Virgen at night
 Sangria, beer and shots all night for an unforgettable first party night with the Topdeck crew.

A good day yes.

Leave a comment