Day Thirty-Six and Thirty-Seven: Hippie in Olympos

My new tour, Cappadocia Adventure, has started and our main destination is Cappadocia and the famous Valley of the Fairy Ghimneys where we will hot air balloon. I’m super excited and luckily 11 people from the previous tour have stayed on for this one so I am not in a new group with too many new faces to learn.

Our last night on the Aegean Adventure and the gullet boat was brought out docked in Fethiye. Unfortunately because we were docked we couldn’t swim because the water was much too dirty. We just died of heat and had to accept it. Yay us. Anyway we headed into town to the V-Go hostel where a party was organized because of most sailing tours ending the next day. The party was great but exhaustion took me back to the boat early (1:30am).

  
The next morning was horrendous and I once again woke up baking in the sun (not fun). We had to be off the boat by 9 so breakfast was much earlier than usual. The Cappadocia Adventure was set to start at 10am at the V-Go hostel so we had a good hour to kill. We headed to the hostel by taxi (the asshole taxi driver then decided to not charge according to the meter and I called him out on it. Got the price pushed down halfway yeah). A swim in the pool and some wifi later we were back on the same bus with the same driver and trip guide, Faruk.

The trip would take us to Olympos, a small hippie seaside village alongside the Olympos city ruins. The drive was quite beautiful along the coastline. We stopped in Kaš (cash), a beautiful local seaside town, for lunch and a swim before heading straight to Olympos. Cat, a girl on the trip, showed me how having a jar of something to spread like peanut butter can be the best snack on the bus. I therefore bought some some Nutella (cheap) and some hard rusk bread stuff. Winning!

 

Beautiful Kas streets
  
Kas character
  
Kas seafront
  
Caught a swim to cool down in Kas
 In Olympos we stayed in a treehouse hostel place. Super hippie. The place is crazy rundown and dirty but it has loads of character. The first thing that is obvious in Olympos is that there are way more Turkish people on holiday than tourists, so that’s quite cool. Dinner was included and after dinner and wifi (wifi is like a magnet haha) most if is headed to bed to try catch up on the sleep we never got on the gullet boat. 

The next day was open to do what we pleased. The previous night the optional activities offered were discussed and chosen. I chose nothing. Everything available I can do anywhere else in the world. So a couple of us headed to the beach where we stayed for a good part of the day. It was cooking so that was the only good option. We found a tiny bit of shade along the rock face and all four of us crammed into it and after some eating and reading, promptly fell asleep. We slept for like 2 hours which was fantastic.

We swam our last swim and headed into the village for lunch. I tried my first Gozeme which is like a pancake filled with cheese, spinach, egg or potato. It was good and cheap. My budget has really been smiling these last few days. Back at the treehouse I showered in the very smelly (like imagine the worst smell relating to toilets ever) ablution block (yes it was like camping) before packing for our early morning start the next day. Before dinner (we have decided the included dinner is more like a soup kitchen because it’s pretty much open to anyone) we had some drinks. Goodness Olympos is hot. The worst is the humidity. Sweat just pours off in buckets. There is absolutely no relief at any point. And to make matters worse I am getting sick again. Whyyyyyyy!? I was just getting better when my body obviously decided it was a good idea to renew my cold/flu prescription. Yay me. This therefore meant another early night.

 

First evening on Olympos beach
  
Walking down the Olympos village street to the beach
  
Quite a backdrop heading through the valley to the beach
  
Olympos beach group selfie
  
Ruins flank the dryish river bed all the way to the beach
  
my favourites Cat and Beth
  
Gozeme for lunch
  
Treehouse hostel- woooden huts errwhere
  
View from our filthy tree hut was the best in the village- yay
  
Tree house selfie
  
Dinner soup kitchen style- still very good
 
Oh the heat. Never in my life have I laid in bed and just sweated like I did last night. All I can hope for is a cooler or at least dryer climate in Cappadocia. 

One thought on “Day Thirty-Six and Thirty-Seven: Hippie in Olympos

Leave a comment